Having TKR on Jan 9

Status
Not open for further replies.

.Tommymack

I'M having my left knee done first as its the knee with the oldest problems.I feel that I could get back to work in two months or so I'm a plumbing and heating mechanic. What do you think. I also need to do the other one at sometime.

Having TKR on Jan 9
.Tommymack, so please you have joined us here on the forum. I think back to work in two months may be a bit optimistic. I am going to give you links to articles from our Library that are essential reading for anyone considering a TKR.

Groups A and B are essential reading, Group C is useful, and Group D is just good information; but you will need it all.

First are the mantras: - rest, elevate, ice and take your pain meds by the clock
- if it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physiotherapist - to do it to you
- if your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it again
- if you won't die if it's not done, don't do it
- never stand when you can sit, never sit when you can lie down, never stay awake when you can go to sleep!

And then the articles in order of importance :
Group A
The importance of managing pain after a TKR and the pain chart
Myth busting: no pain, no gain
Swollen and stiff knee: what causes it?
Progression of activity for TKRs

Group B
How Long Does Healing Take ......
Chart representation of TKR recoveryEnergy drain for TKRs
Elevating your leg to control swelling and pain
Using ice

Group C
Knee Replacement - Where Am I in Recovery?
So What Is It Going to Take?
The Five “P’s” of Knee Recovery
Work “Smarter” and not “Harder”
About recovering a knee - from one who knows!
Some suggestions for home physio (PT) and activity progress
Myth busting: The "window of opportunity"

Group D
MUA (manipulation under anaesthetic) and adhesions
It's never too late to get more ROM!
It's Worth the Wait for ROM
Myth busting: on getting addicted to pain meds