Hip replacement on 15th Oct

Status
Not open for further replies.

titia

I'm new to this blog and undergo a hip replacement on the 15th October. I have so much pain at this stage that I'm started wonder if it is my hip. It's all around my knee and a burning at area around my hip. I was for all the procedures around my hip but when the pain is so that I'm feeling becoming mad, all wrong things touch my mind. I'm so desperate to be without pain. I'm an old runner and cycler and age 57 years

Hi titia, and welcome to BoneSmart. I move your post because it was in someone else's thread about prostate surgery and in the Social Room which is really just for chit-chat and topics other than hips or knees!

All that you have described is perfectly normal for someone in that stage. Arthritis is a horrible pain and it can radiate to all parts of your leg and even your lower back. You just stick around here and we will see you through.

If you need any help using the forum, take a look in here https://bonesmart.org/forum/view/how-to-use-this-xenforo-forum.74/, there are heaps of instructionals. You might find it useful to start off with this one Starting a new thread and posting.

When I was being examined for a knee replacement one of the things they did was x=rays and MRI's of not only the knee but my hips and back. Tehy wanted to be sure that the pain I was feeling in my knee was being caused by my knee and not pain that was originating in my back or hip. According to my doctor it is possible to experience pain in the knee when the problem is actually coming from the hip. My friend has bad knee and leg pain that is a result of the arthritis in her hip. good luck on your surgery

Good luck on your surgery on monday.

Hi, I am having my second hip replacement on 13th November. I currently have pain in my groin and all down the side of my leg and sometimes in my knee which medication does not solve.