• SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. BoneSmart will be unavailable from 8:00am - 10:00am CDT on Tuesday, May 21, 2024 due to required systems maintenance and upgrade.

If you are unable to log in, please check back later and the maintenance should be completed.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Hi! I'm a newbie.

Gillyflower

Hi! I am scheduled for a LTKR on Sept 13. I am 39 years old but I will turn 40 the week before my surgery.

I had torn the meniscus quite a few years ago. I was in the process of relocating to out of state, so the doctor didn’t want to start anything at that point. I got a script for pain relievers and told to pick up the process once I got settled.

With relocating, getting settled and starting a new job, it was several years later that I had surgery. The surgeon trimmed the torn meniscus, removed bone spurs and drilled holes in my knee cap. It helped for a short time. I remember the PA and then the doctor saying that I was too young for a knee replacement. I really didn’t understand what they meant. I lived with the pain and the crunchy noises every day. But I guess I was so used to being in pain, I didn’t realize how bad it was. After seeing the latest x-ray, I totally get where the crunchy noises are coming from!

This year, I finally decided on knee replacement surgery. Everyday I ask myself if the right time is now. In all likelihood, I will be repeating the surgery at some point. I can handle that. My surgeon uses a spinal block. I have had many surgeries, doesn’t bother me at all and I don’t have problems with anesthesia. The whole spinal block thing bothers me a lot. I have read many posts here that have helped alleviate my fears (some). I just have to get through it.

My Joint Class was on Tuesday. It really solidified my decision to have surgery. The major thing that I took from Joint Class was the need for physical strength. For me, that is right now.