TKR Young Total Knee Replacement - Athlete Recovery

Miemczyk

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi all,

First time caller, long time listener here.

I had a right total knee replacement on 09/09/2021 and currently approaching 5 months post op.

A bit of background:
I’m 34 years old and have had four previous knee surgeries (scopes and micro fracture), one Achilles tendon rupture surgery (same leg) and suffered osgood-schlatter as a child. During my 34 years, I’ve played a number of sports and have represented my country for 14 years and played semi professional rugby when younger.

I’ve been fighting a replacement for about 5 years but gave in when I became unable to walk without pain and a substantial limp last year.

I am now attempting to get back playing in the Senior European Championships later this year. I wouldn’t be so far on this recovery journey without the guidance available on this site - so massive thank you.

Good luck all.

Ryan

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi @Miemczyk , I am very impressed and inspired! I'm 2 months today into my RTKR and have been pushing hard in my rehab, occasionally wondering if I'm overdoing it but the knee hasn't cried uncle just yet (the left knee though has been suffering and will soon enough be replaced too, hopefully in March.)

You're going to inspire me to push harder at the gym and work towards fulfilling yet unfulfilled dreams. Thanks for sharing your journey and good luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
Young partial knee replacement person here! I just hit 35 and had both knees partially replaced within the last year. It's been an adventure so far haha.

Now I'm curious. You said you want to continue doing sports. What kind? Aren't you worried about wearing off your implant fast? See, that's my biggest fear that also make me question whether I should go back into HIT training. I do noooot want another surgery (revision) anytime soon.