Reassurance please!

Cassidy

senior
Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I've come to this website fairly recently, as I've been working up to needing a hip replacement for 12 years, since I was misdiagnosed as having sciatica when, in fact, I had osteomyelitis in my hip. I've been soldiering on - in fact it wasn't too bad for the first few years, but has grown increasingly restrictive - and have now decided (with the persuasion of my husband, who has been fairly patient over the last few years as my ability to go on walks, etc., has decreased) that the time has come to bite the bullet, so to speak. I was told by my original consultant that I shouldn't go for the replacement until really necessary, and I must admit that if I don't try to walk more than a few hundred years, or stand for longer than 20 minutes or so, I could probably go on like it for another few years.

I'm 62 now and worry that I'm too young, given the potential lifespan of the new hip. I also feel ridiculously sentimental about losing part of my body (the bone itself is perfectly good, there just isn't any cartilage left, as the infection ate it all!), and I also feel angry about the cause of my predicament (I had a tooth abscess just as the government advised against giving antibiotics, the original consultant didn't listen to my symptoms properly and nobody bothered to look at the ESR results on the blood test, then when I was admitted to hospital for intravenous antibiotics, I acquired hospital transmitted MRSA. A catalogue of errors really!).

I also worry a lot about the hip dislocating (not helped by the fact that I know my own, cartilage-less, hip won't do that).

Please reassure me that I'm doing the right thing in going ahead with the replacement. I'm having an MRI scan to check that there is no infection lurking in the bone and, if not, I'm "on the list".