Just a few more days

pajstone

Country
United States United States
Hi Everyone, I am scheduled for a LKR on Monday August 14. I have found this site so helpful in preparing for the coming surgery. I am actually just ready to get it done, having waited a number of months. I am a 67 year old retired nurse which is not always a help when switching to the patient side. I also am going into this knowing the right knee will need the same surgery in a year or two. Looking froward to hearing about other August journeys on this board, as well as those more experienced members.

Hi :welome:My surgery is on the 15 so I'm right behind you. I'm so ready to get this over with too. I also find this site a lot of help and relief we are one big family. I'm sure others will be along soon. Take care and well wishes for your surgery. Have a blessed day.

Hi and welcome to BoneSmart, Nursey! I'm an old nurse too. What speciality did you work in? Mine - surprise, surprise, was orthopaedic surgery! And yes, I too found it quite a challenge to become a patient!

Here's some reading you might find helpful

Knee Recovery: The Guidelines
1. Don’t worry: Your body will heal all by itself. Relax, let it, don't try and hurry it, don’t worry about any symptoms now, they are almost certainly temporary
2. Control discomfort:
rest
elevate
ice
take your pain meds by prescription schedule (not when pain starts!)
don't overwork.
3. Do what you want to do BUT
a. If it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physical therapist - to do it to you
b. If your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it again.​
4. PT or exercise can be useful BUT take note of these
5. At week 4 and after you should follow this

The Recovery articles:
The importance of managing pain after a TKR and the pain chart
Swollen and stiff knee: what causes it?

Energy drain for TKRs

Elevation is the key

Ice to control pain and swelling

Heel slides and how to do them properly