THR Getting mixed messages on PT after THR<

Debru4

graduate
Country
United States United States
This is my first time asking a question on this forum, but I have read comments on it often since learning I needed THR.

I will be going in for my 2 week follow up in two days, after having anterior approach right THR. I am doing well, have been off of heavy duty pain meds since day 4, able to walk unassisted in my home, and am walking about 2400 steps each day.

My ortho originally said most likely he wouldn’t suggest PT after surgery unless I was having problems because daily movement and being active would suffice. However I have been cautioned by three people who had THR that I should take advantage of this chance for early PT that would be covered by insurance. They said they wouldn’t have progressed as well without it. None live in my city.

My adult children also are encouraging me to do PT if I want to get back my mobility and strength. I am ambivalent as the PT I did following back surgery was helpful, but I’ve read many comments warning about how it can be detrimental after THR.

I’m not sure I’d know which exercises to decline or which would be OK. I feel like I need to be prepared for my Dr apptointment. Has anyone consulted with a PT first and told them they wanted a very pain free, conservative approach? Any ideas that would help me decide are much appreciated. I don't want to set myself back since I’m doing so well, but have a trip planned in 2 months that I want to be ready for. Thank you.

@Debru4 Welcome to BoneSmart! If you have been around this forum for any length of time you will know that we agree with your surgeon's approach. Hips really don't need PT. What works is walking. You will gain strength and mobility just be moving around on your own.

Unfortunately most physios have a checklist of exercises that they prescribe. Most do not even address the hip. Patients just end up sore and frustrated.