Yup, I'm a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

birdie1410

Hi all,

LTKR on 5-11-11. ROM WAS at 109 until the other night, stiffness, pain and swelling set in ( posted about the leg jump). Doing better today.
I just cannot tell you how grateful I am to have found this site while doing a web search! This-THIS-is what I needed.
I am grandmother to 3 with 2 more on the way this year! :yay: I want to be able to be the fun grandma-I have almost never been able to just play with the kids and not worry about pain.
For the first 3 weeks after surgery, I vowed to never go through that again, no matter what, even though the right knee is almost as bad! AWFUL, awful pain and swelling! I am getting better but in the beginning, I had so much conflicting advice that all I could do was cry :cry:-my poor husband has been awesome!
Anyway, just wanted to get my own thread going. Josephine, I am looking forward to those links! I'm tired of being tied to a bed or recliner and tired of pain, stiffness and swelling. lol I always have a lot of questions and yes, I always post a long post. :th_heehee:

Welcome to the Forum! You are a month today from your TKR! This is a great site for you and it has a great deal of information and a tremendous number of passionate and compassionate people with wisdom and experience.

You are riding the roller coaster ride that we call recovery---some good days, some great days,, and some days that you would like to forget about. They are all there. Josephine has given you some great links to read and we have a wealth of information in our forum library.

No post is too long for us---ask questions, vent, or read what other people have to say---we will be here for you throughout your recovery and beyond.

Just keep icing and elevating and resting and keep the knee happy! I have no doubt that you will recapture the life that arthritis stole from you---and that you will be able to totally enjoy your grandkids pain-free!