TKR August 14

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrism

Country
United States United States
Hi I am having my TNR on Aug 14 2018.

My story:
I Had a bad accident in Germany when I was 28 I had a knee reconstruction done on both knees with a recovery time of 1 year. the Hospital, Doctors and nurses where super good and nice and helped me on my way. After one year I started playing Soccer in a league again and as a hobby I played Ice Hockey. I am person that pushes himself very very, hard and still do if needed. Now I am 51 and time has caught up with me and I need a total knee replacement in both knees but will do one at a time. reading in here has helped me see I need to not push myself that hard. I guess..

I am pretty nervous as I am not a person to sit around and wait. I am always busy. I know this is not right, but I was raised to see pain as weakness leaving my body. Military style. if you have not lost 1 liter of blood its not bad. My wife said I am only that strict to myself. I am still very nerves. my goal is getting back to a as pain free life as possible and back to being active again. any help or thoughts will be totally appreciated.....

Welcome to Bonesmart!

Knee replacement is a long recovery, but it won’t be forever. Keep that in mind.

In the early days you will need lots of rest, so even though you feel you are doing nothing, try to look at it as if you are working hard to give your body the best circumstance in which to do it’s job of healing.

Best wishes!

chrism,
Welcome to BoneSmart, glad you joined us!

Your surgery is coming up soon, here are the recovery guidelines, to give you a head start on the reading. The articles are short and will not take long to read.

Knee Recovery: The Guidelines

1. Don’t worry: Your body will heal all by itself. Relax, let it, don't try and hurry it, don’t worry about any symptoms now, they are almost certainly temporary
2. Control discomfort:
rest
elevate
ice