TKR TKR at 28 - advice please!

zaraamber

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hello,
I'm new to all this and I was looking for advice or personal experiences. I am 28 years old and am going to have to have a TKR on my left knee. I was hoping that someone could let me know if they have had this at a younger age, how the op went? How their recovery was? And also what is your quality of life like now? Thanks in advance as I'm so nervous! x

Last edited:
Sorry to hear you are facing this so young. I’m in the “mature age” category [emoji1] so can’t offer any advice for someone younger. Good luck

Hi @zaraamber and :welome: Do you have a date for your surgery? If so, we can create a signature for you. :wave:

This is a big surgery, so of course you feel nervous. Visit here whenever you are and we will talk you through it and give virtual hugs.

If you go over to the recovery area of the forum you will see the threads of recovering TKR patients. Most of these members are, of course, older than you. There will be some younger ones, though, in their thirties or forties, mostly, but closer to your age. And your thread title here will attract those on the younger side also.

Here's some pre-op reading for you. And of course you can ask questions!

If you have concern about pain with this surgery, Plan For Pain, can be helpful for having this discussion with your medical team.

New BoneSmart members like you are in various stages of their journey to joint replacement. Making the decision whether or not to have surgery and preparing for surgery can be easier once you have done your research and know what lies ahead. Here are some tools that can help you decide what is best for you.

If you are at the stage where you have joint pain but don't know for sure if you are ready to have surgery, these links may help:

Score Chart: How bad is my arthritic knee?
Choosing a surgeon and a prosthesis