Tibial Plateau Fracture Tibia Plateau Fracture - Extremely Limited ROM

ALofGA

Country
United States United States
This is my first time here. I sustained a tibia plateau fracture on March 16, had surgery on 3/26. I'm almost 12 weeks post surgery at this point. I was non weight bearing for 9 weeks, currently at 50% of weight bearing, using a walker. I am 70, a former marathoner and prior to this injury worked out nearly every day on my spin bike at home or weights/resistance at the gym.

I used a CPM in the hospital and for 5 weeks at home. I just started PT this week. I currently have 40 degree bend, got to 50 today but it was agonizing. My quad is strong and I'm flexible (today I swung my injured leg over the top of the stationary bike to exit on the side where my walker was). I'm walking a mile daily in my walker, trying to simulate as best I can a normal step (push off on the toe, land on the heel). I took two pain meds before PT today and still cried most of the way through it. It's absolute agony. My knee does not want to bend, and its extremely painful when they force it.

Has anyone else had this issue? It seems that every story I've read, every YouTube video I've watched, although Pt is difficult for people with the fracture, no one talks about how hard/painful it is to bend the knee. People talk about being 90 degrees soon after starting PT. I'm getting very concerned that it is going to even get close to full ROM.

I am going to have the hardware removed and a knee replacement approximately a year from the injury.

Has anyone had a similar issue with limited ROM for the knee?

Hi and Welcome!

I’m sorry you’ve sustained this injury and are having such a hard time at PT. I have not had such a fracture, but I do have painful experiences with PT. I’m thinking maybe you should consider looking for a different PT office, with a PT that would have a more gentle rehab plan for you.