THR Tennis after posterior THR

Jenalynn

Country
United States United States
I had a posterior total hip replacement a little over two years ago. Prior to hip replacement, I was very active. I had hip dysplasia and had to have it replaced at age 48. I started playing doubles tennis about 6 months ago. It suddenly started hurting just last week after playing tennis. Has anyone else had issues with their new hip hurting after activity? I walk 2 miles a day, do spin class twice a week, do the stair master sometimes and those activities do not hurt. Curious to know if anyone else has ever played tennis after hip replacement?

I know a few people who have returned to tennis after THR. They aren't Bonesmart members, unfortunately. I think @otisbeagle plays tennis too. Are you playing singles or doubles?

Hi Jenalyn,
Welcome to BoneSmart. Thanks for joining us.

I'm sorry you're struggling with pain. If you've been playing tennis for six months and it just began hurting, one would assume you pulled or overstretched something while playing. Consider stepping away from tennis and workouts until it dissipates, taking OTC pain relievers as directed / needed. If it doesn't ease, call the office of your OS and let them decide whether you should schedule an appointment.

Please share your surgery date below and which hip was replaced. The information will be applied as your signature. Stop back and let us know how you're doing. We can involve the forum nurse at some point if you're interested.
Wishing you comfort and speedy relief.
@Jenalynn

@Jenalynn, sorry you're having this sudden pain. Plenty of people play tennis after hip replacement, singles and doubles.