THR SuperPath & Dislocating Hip

Boxmaker1917

Country
United States United States
Newbie here, so please forgive me if this has been addressed. I need a THR on my right and am very interested in the SuperPath approach. I am 72 and physically active, including both yoga and pilates. I have not been able to find information whether, after post-op recovery, there is the danger of dislocating my new hip when I return to yoga and pilates. One surgeon who does not perform SuperPath suggested I look at a dual motion hip. He believes it is "almost impossible" to dislocate a hip with this implant.

I wonder whether those of you who had a SuperPath surgery have been warned about returning to certain physical activities (other than contact sports) after your recovery.

Thank you in advance for your help!

@Boxmaker1917 Welcome to BoneSmart :welome: On the blue bar at the top of the forum there is a search area. Put in "SuperPath" and you will get a list of any thread that mentions that. There are quite a few folks who have had this technique when getting a new hip. You can do the same for dual mobility hip.

I think the most important factor will be you taking time to heal after having a hip replacement! Trying to do too much too soon will only set you back. I had both hips replaced nearly 10 years ago and when I was discharged from my surgeon's care he said the only thing I could never do was bungy cord jumping. We have had a lot of people getting hip and knee (and other joints) replaced and returning to strenuous jobs and activities. You should, given time and care and patience, be able to return to your favorite things too!

Please keep us informed on what you decide and ask any questions you may have. We do like to help.

Hi and thank you for your response! I searched the forums before posting my question. The almost-impossibility of dislocating the repaired hip is mentioned in dual motion hip surgeries because this is the main reason for this choice.