TKR So tired!

bellabee

Country
United States United States
Thank you for the add! I’m 5 weeks Post Op. I’m at 118 and -5. I stopped all opioids about 3 weeks ago. I’m only taking Meloxicam( Mobic) 2 x per day. I’m still not sleeping well. The intense night pain has subsided, sometimes but sleep still evades me. I’m so tired! Is the tiredness normal? I’m doing PT 3 times per day, doing regular household chores, I’m a real estate broker and have been showing homes here and there, but after that I’m so tired. I haven’t been walking any long distances yet. Should I push myself more?

Hi, welcome to the recovery side.
Is the tiredness normal?
100%. Your body is taking as much resource as it can to heal, you would be feeling tired even if doing nothing.
Should I push myself more?
No, less. PT is good in that it should help with mobility, but don't push yourself or try any training exercises as yet.

Knee Recovery: The Guidelines
1. Don’t worry: Your body will heal all by itself. Relax, let it, don't try and hurry it, don’t worry about any symptoms now; they are almost certainly temporary
2. Control discomfort:
rest
elevate
ice
take your pain meds by prescription schedule (not when pain starts!)
don't overwork.
3. Do what you want to do BUT
a. If it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physical therapist - to do it to you
b. If your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it again.​
4. PT or exercise can be useful BUT take note of these
5. Here is a week-by-week guide for Activity progression for TKRs

The Recovery articles:
The importance of managing pain after a TKR and the pain chart
Swollen and stiff knee: what causes it?

Energy drain for TKRs

Elevation is the key

Ice to control pain and swelling

Heel slides and how to do them properly

Chart representation of TKR recovery

Healing: how long does it take?

Post op blues is a reality - be prepared for it