ROM before and after TKR

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynne

Hi Everyone,
I found this forum through a Google search last night and just registered today.
Back in 1991 I did a simple twisting around motion which resulted in a "Separation of prepatellar & prefemoral fat pads - joint effusion, tear in meniscus". At the time I was an over the road trucker and the pain eventually went away so nothing was ever done surgically. But from that time on I have been unable to bend my knee completely. I also have inherited from my Mom the "arthritis gene" according to my Ortho and both knees are now shot, so over the years the ROM has decreased even more. I'm scheduled for TKR in May (if I don't chicken out) and am wondering how much of an increase in this ROM I can expect to achieve after TKR. I can live with the pain (for now with the help of pain meds and warm weather) but the stiffness and lack of range of motion is what severly limits me and makes me want the replacement now.

Blessings!

Hello, Lynne, and welcome to BoneSmart.

The intention of any joint replacement is to restore normal function. Therefore you can expect to get back normal ROM in your knee. Of course there are little problems that can seem to get in the way at the beginning but most are temporary, such as swelling or adhesions. Some of the time, what you get is in proportion to the amount of effort and hard work you are prepared to invest in your PT but don't let that make you into an obsessive-compulsive person!