Revision TKR Complicated RTKR revision 2015, considering LTKR

Randi

graduate
Country
Canada Canada
I had my revision RTKR on September 14th. Things went pretty well. As we had thought my original TKR was misaligned in several places with 10% rotation, thus causing the twisted, unstable feeling I had been describing for 3 years . The new prosthesis is one the revionist only uses for complex cases.He also put in 2 rods(?) for extra stability. I was in hospital 6 days, 3 in acute care and 3 in specialized rehab program. I'm impressed by this hospital in general though of course there were some nurses who apparently don't like what they do, but most were great. It is a hospital that only does complex knee and hip surgery . Physiotherapists were really helpful and knowledgeable and got me up and walking quickly but at my pace. My only regret is that I went elsewhere for the original TKR surgery - but what's done is done.

I've had a few medical issues, anemia, low blood pressure , which are adding to my tiredness.I started outpatient Physio yesterday at the same hospital and I really like their methods so all good on that front so far. I am walking a bit around the house, doing gentle exercises twice a day, icing and resting, resting, resting.

I have two questions:
When I took off the bandage yesterday I saw that the skin on one side of my scar is completely bruised, almost dark brown. The other side is slightly pink but otherwise fine.. Sort of looks like someone painted a line between two colours. Wondering if this is common
Also, there is some slight bleeding between two of the stitches every time I bend my knee. Nothing oozing at all. I've covered it with a regular bandage . Do you think I need to do anything else ?

I'm grateful all has gone so well so far. Just curious about these two questions. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi @Randi
Welcome to the recovery side again! I'm glad the revision went well.