TKR Reintroduce myself.

Nyland

post-grad
Country
United States United States
Hello everyone. May name is Nyland. I registered here in 2012 before my RTKR. @Pumpkin , I REMEMBER you! @Jockette I'm not having surgery in May. I see my surgeon on 5/10. I hope to have surgery in September or October. Nice to meet you.
When I initially saw my surgeon, he told me that I that both knees were bone on bone toast and asked which one I wanted him to replace next. At that time, I had been walking with a cane for a few years. I had RTKR. My titanium knee has been so good to me. I got rid of the cane. During the past 10 years my husband had both knees replaced. My surgeon came to get me after his 2nd surgery and said to me, "Wow, I thought that i would see you before I saw him again!" I told him that I had a better memory than my husband. My husband had a tough recovery after his first replacement and was back to work in 2 weeks after his 2nd. He has been telling me for years that the surgery is different and the recovery is much easier. On Monday, I had had enough. I made my appointment for May 10th. He would have gotten me in yesterday, but I work all day and teach every Tuesday and Thursday nights. I had to wait until my spring classes were over. My thought is that I will ask to have surgery the week before Labor Day because I see patients on Mondays and don't have anyone to fill in. If the surgery is scheduled on the Wednesday before Labor Day, I won't have any patients scheduled on that Monday. I think that I could see the ones scheduled for the next Monday by telehealth.
Well, that's my plan. Thanks for having me back for my LTKR.

Last edited:
Hi @Nyland ,good to hear that your 2012 knee continues to be good ... always nice to hear about the longevity of replaced knees! Your husband's 2nd replacement sounds like the dream a lot of us wish for post-op!! Good for him!

Hopefully your left knee will hold up nicely the next couple of months prior to surgery! Best of luck!