Rehab following surgery?

barzeen

Country
United States United States
Anyone have to go to Rehab for any period of time after being released from hospital?

I intend to go to my daughter and husbands as the house they recently bought has handicap accessible bedroom with a bathroom I can use.

My doctor however insists I go to a rehab for a week or so. Ii have 2 bad shoulders as well as 2 bad knees so I understand why. Just so disappointed. Dumb question what is rehab all about. Never had any experience with it.

@barzeen, while I have no personal experience with this, my understanding is that most OS’s usually recommend a patient going to a rehab facility when there are concerns about the level of support they will receive at home (or complete lack of support). That said, we do have some members who live alone yet did not go to a rehab center. In fact, one had a bilateral TKR and she managed very well.

I think you need to have a very direct discussion with your OS about the reasons he/she feels it’s necessary. If going to one is not what you want to do, I would refuse and make them justify why it’s necessary. Personally, I’d want to stay far away from them as I feel recovering at home a much better environment.

@barzeen - Do talk to your surgeon about the need for rehab, as NavyGunns suggested. Your daughter's place sounds ideal, but your surgeon may have concerns about how your shoulders will handle supporting you at first.

If you do have to go to rehab, it is wise to check out the place beforehand. Some rehab places are geared towards recovery after surgery but others, unfortunately, seem to be more like rest homes. Those places are not always suitable for recovering from joint replacements.

Yes, if your daughter's house is so well equipped and if someone would be with you for the first week or so, you may not need rehab.