Watch 2020 JRAD Videos

Hip Arthroscopy Question about pain, 4 months Post-OP

MOK11

Country
United States United States
Hello,

I've never used one of these forums before but I've been unable to get a response from my surgeon yet, so I was hoping to see if anyone here might have insight.

A quick background about my situation: I had FAI surgery on 12/23/19 to correct both a torn labrum and the CAM impingement that caused it. My surgeon said my tear was severe and that there was so little labrum left that if I were to retear it, there would not be enough for him to operate on, which has left me a little paranoid about potential reinjuries.

Most of my recovery went very well; there were certainly moments when I felt soreness and discomfort or popping, but nothing that lasted more than a couple of days.

Anyways, 6 days ago, I dropped something and instinctively bent down to pick it up, placing all of my bodyweight on my operated leg (with my other leg lifting off the ground). I then felt a large popping/cracking. I was not initially too worried because it felt mostly fine that night, but the next day I felt like my hip was slipping and was in more pain than I’ve felt since about two weeks after the surgery. Now, the pain has not gone away at all and I am having trouble sitting for extended periods of time and sleeping. I am walking with a significant limp because if I don’t, each step there is the same small popping I felt I before surgery.

As I said, I already contacted my surgeon, but I figured it would do a lot for my mind if anyone had some possible insight into what this could be. I admittedly don't fully understand the surgery/healing process that well, so I'm very curious if the actions I described are enough to cause the labrum to retear, the surture anchors to break, or some other serious injury?