BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Knee Replacement & Hip Replacement
Patient Advocacy & Online Community

Pre Op

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by maggie23, Mar 16, 2017.

1. maggie23

maggie23

United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi All

I have been reading everyones stories,struggles and successes. (great forum)

I am a newb to BoneSmart and this will be my first op. L hip, definitely not new to the pain. I have RA and now discovered that both hips have gone.

Maggie23

Tags:
  2. Jaycey

Jaycey Moderator

@maggie23 Welcome to BoneSmart! Another fellow member from the UK! Do you have surgery scheduled yet?

You have indeed come to the right place for information and support through this journey. Have a read in our Library and on the recovery threads. Lots of helpful information for preparation and post op recovery.

Give a shout if you have any questions or concerns.

3. maggie23

maggie23

I don't have a fixed date but I am due April or May. The consultant is waiting for some information from my RA consultant. I have a monthly infusion for my RA(tocilizumab) I need to stop the treatment before I have the op.

I think I am more worried about the weight I have put on rather than the op, I only have a few weeks to strengthen my hips. I find it so hard to exercise or go for a walk. When I get home from work I just want to climb into my bed and I do. I see a physio for my hips and chiropractor for my back.
    Can any one tell me where I can find the energy and what are the best effective exercise I can do. (no motivation)
    I sit all day at work and try to walk around but I am so stiff and in pain.

4. Jaycey

Jaycey Moderator

@maggie23 Pre-op pain is not manageable. You really do not need to do anything to "strengthen" your hips. They are worn out and need to be replaced. I would recommend doing as little as possible to avoid aggravating them and causing more pain. Frankly - I don't think physio at this stage will benefit you at all.