BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community
  1. Announcing BoneSmart's NEW Joint Surgeon Locator tool

We are pleased to now offer a tool to help you find just the right surgeon for your needs. If your surgeon is not listed, please let us know and we'll get them added.

Read more about this in this announcement:

Dismiss Notice

[THR] Post Op Day 6---When will the tilting stop?

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Recovery Area' started by FayeL, Sep 11, 2019 at 11:32 AM.

1. FayeL

FayeL new member

Canada Canada
    Hello everyone- this is my first time joining a forum; I am feeling in need of guidance and support from my new "community."
    I live in a community where the standard of practice is an overnight hospital stay for hip replacements, so in Friday morning, surgery Friday afternoon, home Saturday. I was actually quite surprised that by Sunday, I was walking to the end of my block (very slowly with a walker) twice per day and yesterday, swapped the walker out for a cane. I have read repeatedly that one of the big challenges after surgery is to let yourself take things easy, slow and remind yourself frequently that your body has been through quite an ordeal with surgery and to be patient. Well, I am now appreciating that it is quite hard to take that advise, which is probably why it is given so often!
    Yesterday, I decided that I probably didn't set the bar high enough with 2 walks per day (it really is only 8 houses to the corner) and went for the walk 3 times and last night, I started getting a burning feeling in my right buttocks and bit of thigh discomfort- not huge issues (compared to my pre-op pain) but bit scary because of all the warning about prosthetic loosening and other complications.
    Is there anyone here who has had similar symptoms? Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

2. mikeycat

mikeycat graduate

Canada Canada