Possible hip replacement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessa

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have had problems with my hip , on and off, since I was child. Intermittent pain, limited movement (could never sit cross legged!). In Sept 2015 started getting pain in my hip more or less constantly. GP requested X ray which showed "mild osteoarthritis " in both hips and a dysplasic appearance to left hip. Referred to MSK service had physio and 2x steroid injections, first was amazing for 6 weeks , second limited effects.

I am now taking naproxen and paracetamol throughout the day and even with this am still in pain, limping and can't walk more than half a mile. I used to be so active, swimming, walking at least 10 miles at the weekend. I struggle at work getting up off the floor ( I am a nurse assessing disabled children).

I have now been referred to a surgeon, appt on 20th March for consideration of hip replacement. I don't want surgery but can't see any other way forward, but am worried as I only have mild arthritis (but not mild symptoms) I will end up having to struggle on.
Would be good to know people's views and if anyone has has similar experience ...

Sent from my iPad using BoneSmart mobile app

Well we have all been in that space. You get the diagnosis and just can't deal with the solution for all that pain. The good news is that waiting and wondering about the surgery is worse than the actual event! You may have "mild osteoarthritis" but dysplasia will contribute to hip deterioration. Sounds like you have explored all the alternatives. Time to move on!

Have a read around our hip recovery area. Lots of happy hippies who overwhelmingly agree that they waited far to long for this life changing surgery.

You will be active again post THR! Swimming, hiking - great exercise for new hips. We are with you through this journey!