Possible AVN in both shoulders...need advice!

Poisonbutterfly

Country
United States United States
Hi, I'm new here and this is my first time posting. I'll start at the beginning. I was walking my dog one day and she jerked me and I hurt my right knee. I had an MRI done and they diagnosed me the AVN. Fast forward a few months and I started noticing the same pain but in my left knee. Had an x-ray an confirmed that I know had AVN in my left knee. I've seen an orthopedic surgeon and he performed a bilateral TKR. I'm now going on 2 years post op. I have started noticing pain in my right shoulder about 8 months or more. Now, I have the same pain in my left shoulder. The pain is so bad that it makes it near to impossible to sleep, since I sleep on my sides. The pain has continued to get worse to the point it hurts to even breathe at times. I am scheduled to have x-rays on both shoulders tomorrow. I'm so scared that they are going to tell me that I have AVN in both my shoulders. Can anyone tell me what symptoms that you experienced from AVN of the shoulders. Also, has anyone had this in one joint like your knee, and then got it in a separate joint such as your shoulders, hip, etc? I'm just looking for any advice that you can give me.

@Poisonbutterfly Welcome to BoneSmart :flwrysmile:I am not aware of anyone who had AVN in their shoulders but there might be folks I do not know.. Hopefully the x-rays tomorrow will answer your questions. Whether the problem is AVN, arthritis, or something else, please let us know and what your doctor recommends. For what it's worth I found shoulder replacement surgery much easier than hip replacement primarily because shoulder is not weight bearing. Any surgery is tough of course. And if problems in your shoulders do need surgery they would not do both at once like they did your knees or my hips. Shoulder surgery most often means the arm is in a sling and strapped down for about 6 weeks... and then begins the PT portion of healing.