TKR Pain Behind the Knee

pjkopks

Country
United States United States
(I actually first posted this under my pre-op question thread. I'm still learning the ropes on here, so if posting this in the way I have now is not the way things are done, please kindly and gently instruct me. I'm just looking for the reinforcement and encouragement this group seems to be good at giving.)

My surgery was last Monday, the 11th. All went well, and I came home on schedule. One of my pre-op worries I obsessed abut was getting up the steps at my house. This group assured me I would be well prepared, and you were totally correct. Despite having one previous ortho surgery, I feel I was incredibly naive about the pain level of this procedure. I do not tolerate the pain meds all that well. They make me nauseous, so I have Zofran, but then that adds to the sleepiness. You all know the cycle.

I think I vastly overdid it today for five days out. Because I feel miserable from the side effects, I opted to try to manage on Tylenol only during the day. By about 4, I took a pain pill, so I "let the pain get ahead of me" as the common saying goes. I also pushed myself too hard with the PT I was taught at the hospital. What is wrong with me? I have a brain. So tomorrow, my plan is to take the commonly given advice---take my pain meds on time and not push myself.

I am keeping ice on my knee most of the time. Until today, I had very little swelling, but today my ankle and knee are clearly swollen. I'm just kiind of doing my own therapy with this entry: use my brain, do what the common directives say to do, backing off pushing myself, and giving myself healing time. I've cried a lot today off and on, feeling like I am missing spring, missing grands, missing being with family for Easter, missing life. Thanks for letting me vent.

NightQuilter

Staff member since March 2020
BoneSmart Staff
Country