THR Over compensating?

Eddie 1

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi everyone. I had my left hip replaced 2 years ago and couldn’t be happier until recently. My unoperated right hip started hurting about 7 months ago and I’m now waiting to get that one done, however my left operated hip has now started to bother me in the last week or so. I work in construction but haven’t had anything unusual happen, I.e. trips or falls etc.. My right hip is pretty painful and causing me to limp quite a lot. I’m just hoping the pain that’s started in my left operated hip could just be from over compensating for the right? Has anyone else experienced this?
Thanks

@Eddie 1 Sorry hip number 2 is in the cards. We see the scenario you are describing very often. The hip opposite the pending replacement starts to complain.

If your right hip is painful you are walking all wrong trying to stay off it. It's amazing how much twisting and shifting of weight you can do and not even realise it. Can you use a cane or crutch to take some of the weight off that sore hip while you are waiting for your THR?

@Eddie 1 Sorry hip number 2 is in the cards. We see the scenario you are describing very often. The hip opposite the pending replacement starts to complain.

If your right hip is painful you are walking all wrong trying to stay off it. It's amazing how much twisting and shifting of weight you can do and not even realise it. Can you use a cane or crutch to take some of the weight off that sore hip while you are waiting for your THR?
Thanks! Unfortunately I can’t use a crutch or similar at work which is the main place I’m on my feet. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a replacement sometime soon:)

@Eddie 1 They are just now talking about reconfiguring NHS areas to open up for elective procedures. As you can imagine it's not an easy process. And this includes setting up strict protocols for insuring both staff and patients stay safe.