• RATE YOUR SURGEON ON OUR NEW JOINT SURGEON LOCATOR

Your opinion matters so please click on this announcement to find out how to rate the surgeons you have worked with

You could also go to the Surgeon Locator via the blue nav bar at the top - find the tab "Surgeon Locator"

October 30 surgery...Pre-surgery appointment today...Discharge plan includes PCA Pump

tlfiore

Country
United States United States
Hi everyone. First, I want to express my gratitude to the wonderful folks here on BoneSmart who take the time to post and help others. Locating this website has been a God-send for me and I am grateful. Thank you!

I have read and learned SO MUCH already from everyone. I know I will be here on the forums a lot!

So, I just returned from my Pre-Operative Surgical & Anesthesia Evaluation for my right TKR, which is in two weeks on October 30th. I am a Nurse Practitioner (semi-retired); however my specialty is not Orthopedics. I was literally shocked when the Nurse Practitioner I met with told me, "I would be having a saphenous (likely) nerve catheter temporarily placed prior to surgery, as my hospital and surgeon's is to discharge people with a Patient Controlled Pump, or Patient Controlled Analgesia for 3-4 days of post-surgical nerve block/anesthetic." This method is apparently favored in lieu of moderate oral narcotic use for post-TKR pain management.

I guess one favorite device is the "On-Q Pain Buster," or "On-Q Infusion Pain Pump." Wow...I haven't seen/heard/read anything about this and I am really surprised.

Has anyone heard of this measure as an alternative for TKR post-surgical pain?

Scouring for information right now!

Last edited:

jeffjob

Country
Wow, no I have not and I had my TKR's done at a fairly progressing center in Connecticut.

Very well could be more driven by the Opioid issues here in the states.

I suppose it could work well but couldn't there be issues with the nerve block and leg / lower body functions?