Lounge Doctor

TKR Night pain

MistyBlue155

Country
United States United States
I’m new to bonesmart. I was googling in early hours regarding getting sleep, and this site came up on a u-tube video. My TKR was March 26,2021. The pain at night keeps me up all night every night. I take pain pills, ice, elevate, up and down all night. I do PT 3 times a week, maybe this is to much? Any feedback or ideas that work for you would be greatly appreciated.

Jaycey

FORUM ADMINISTRATOR
Administrator
Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
@MistyBlue155 Welcome to BoneSmart! Which knee did you have replaced. We will put the information in your signature for you.
I do PT 3 times a week, maybe this is to much?
Is your PT excessive? Are they pushing that knee bend? Three times a week does seem excessive. And if there are pushing it's too much.

I would focus on icing and elevation. Get all that swelling under control. That is what causing you pain.

Here are our recovery guidelines. It's not too late for you to get back on track with this recovery:
Knee Recovery: The Guidelines
We are all different, as are the approaches to this recovery and rehab. The key is, “Find what works for YOU.“ Your doctor(s), physiotherapist(s) and BoneSmart are here to help. But you have the final decision as to what approach you use.

1. Don’t worry: Your body will heal all by itself. Relax, let it, don't try and hurry it, don’t worry about any symptoms now, they are almost certainly temporary

2. Control discomfort:
rest
ice
take your pain meds by prescription schedule (not when pain starts!)​

3. Do what you want to do BUT
a. If it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physical therapist - to do it to you​
b. If your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it again.​

4. PT or exercise can be useful BUT take note of these

5. At week 4 and after you should follow this Activity progression for TKRs

6. Access these pages on the website