Watch 2019 JRAD Videos

THR Newbie scheduled THR for March

Skins_fan

Country
United States United States
Newbie here. I am 45 years old and scheduled a THR on my right hip for March 9th. I have had a lot of pain over the past 3 years. It’s bone on bone on the right hip. Thankfully no issues with the left. I took the family to Disneyland last month and I could barely move at the end of the day and knew I had to quit putting it off.

I found a surgeon I feel very good about. However, I am kind of freaking out about the whole thing. I am having my surgery done at Hoag hospital in Irvine, California and they send patients home the same day. Is that common? I had platelet rich plasma and stem cells from adipose tissue injected 3 times in my hip last year and the pain was pretty excruciating for me the night of the injections so I am pretty worried about going home the same day as the THR surgery. I am also overweight 6’4” 325 pounds.

The surgeon is going to perform an anterior approach but it’s not robotic assisted. Is there a huge advantage to the robot? My surgeon has done a ton of anterior THR on larger patients and he didn’t even bat an eye at my size so that was comforting but if robotic assisted is superior I might reconsider and look at other surgeons. I appreciate any input. Thank you!

Also I have a trip planned to Vegas for the NFL draft at the end of April which will be 6 1/2 weeks after my currently scheduled surgery. Do you think I will be mobile enough to walk around or is that too much too soon?

longtimechemist

Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Welcome @Skins_fan - you’ve found a great place for information about THR, from people who have been through the surgery themselves.
I am sure one of the forum experts will be along soon with advice and information.
Regarding going home on the same day - that will only happen if it is appropriate for you after the surgery is done. You will have a say in that decision, I’m sure.

Mojo333