Mireille's RTHR

Mireille

graduate
Country
United States United States
Hello, everyone. I'm a veteran of the Knee replacement forum and now am moving into hip replacement. Just found out today, I'm having surgery Tuesday, February 6th. I suffer from degenerative osteoarthritis and FAI. I had a right hip arthroscopy on October of 2016 for debridement, labral tear and cam and pincer impingemet. The hip started bothering me again just recently and I have another labral tear, approximately 2 cm of calcification as well as extreme narrowing of my joint space. Not really what I wanted to hear but will be glad to get rid of the excruciating hip pain. The knee forum was invaluable during my knee replacement recovery so here I am again. Great support tool! Thanks!

Welcome and wow! That is a lot of surgeries over six years. Apparently, except for 2013, you should stick to the odd years... :) I also had OA related to FAI and the surgery successfully addressed those issues. Hopefully you'll find the hip recovery easier than the knee.
D

Welcome @Mireille. I have my second thr the day before you. Don’t know if it’s true but I’ve heard hip recovery is a bit easier than knee-you’ll have to let us know.

Thanks all!

@dapplega too funny, hadn't even noticed the odd year thing, haha. I'm looking forward to a resolution. It hasn't been fun!

@MammaT best of luck on your surgery. We can compare notes ad keep each other on track. I heard that too and I certainly hope so. The knee was the most horrible experience I've had to date. I have to do the other one but not mentally ready yet. My OS says it's nothing like the Knee and he expects me to bounce back around 6 weeks. We'll see. :)

Hi @Mireille
Welcome to the Happy Hippy side!
Want to wish you luck on your upcoming surgery.
Hopefully it's a piece of cake compared to the knee recoveries you've experienced.
Not much time till your date.
Wishing you comfort and peace as you await the 6th!

:welome:to the hippest place to be.