BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community
  1. RATE YOUR SURGEON ON OUR NEW JOINT SURGEON LOCATOR

Your opinion matters so please click on this announcement to find out how to rate the surgeons you have worked with

You could also go to the Surgeon Locator via the blue nav bar at the top - find the tab "Surgeon Locator"

Dismiss Notice

[THR] LupyHippie June 14 Recovery

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Recovery Area' started by Lupyhippie, Jun 13, 2019.

1. Lupyhippie

Lupyhippie new member

United States United States
    Hello, this is my first post but I thought I would go ahead and post here since
    I’m under tomorrow.

My background is that I have lupus and antiphospholipid syndrome so the steroids I was on caused issues as well as the lupus itself causing osteoarthritis and avascular necrosis. I thought over a year ago it was the normal aches and pains of lupus but when a very bright coworker mentioned “it’s not bilateral pain it’s unilateral maybe you need an xray” (I’m a nurse in a busy cancer center so we always diagnose each other lol).

So here I am. This site is wonderful and after reading so many posts I thought it was only fitting that I should contribute to others who might have similar problems.

I do have some concerns however. I tested for MSSA and due to the fact I’m on weekly injection (Biologics) for lupus, I am immuno-compromised. I was out of town (living my last weekend in pain in New Orleans) and did not start the Bactroban and Hibiclens showers until yesterday (vs the 5 days they said to do).

I’m really worried about surgical site infections. Are there any more precautions I should take? In addition since APS is a clothing disorder I’m worried about blood clots. The PS is starting Lovenox (only because the Hematolgist told him to, thank goodness). I know the exercises etc. but still it’s a concern.