Lounge Doctor
Ask the Expert Webinar

Revision TKR Knee surgery for loose plastic

Wood man

Country
United States United States
Hi I’m new here. I had my left knee replaced march14,2019 . From the beginning I said I thought something wasn’t right with it. Last month I had a bone scan to find out the plastic is loose. It started out with popping when I would walk to now making a crunching noise when I stand up. It is giving me pain and some swelling. It is very uncomfortable. Is there a risk of more damage if I’m still trying to do my every day work? I sell firewood for a living, and what is the surgery and recovery for this

Celle

Country
New Zealand New Zealand
Hello @Wood man - and :welome:

I've moved your post from the shoulder surgery area where you posted it, to the Knee Surgery Recovery Area.

I'm sorry the plastic spacer appears to be too thin. Having it replaced with a slightly thicker one should make your knee more stable and less painful.

Since your knee is already swollen and painful, the sooner you can get this done, the better things should be. It's probably not wise to continue working for too long before you get it fixed.

The surgery itself is relatively simple. It does mean that your knee will have to be opened up again, but exchanging the spacer for a thicker one is relatively simple.
You will need to take some time to recover from the surgery and you'll need to rest ice and elevate as you did for your knee replacement, but the recovery time will be much shorter.

TimeBuster

Country
I don't get these doctors.

I had the same issue as you. My spacer came out of place which damage my LCL I was walking around bowlegged on one leg.

As soon as I call my orthopedic Dr. who did the surgery and told her there was a problem with my knee she had me in her office the same day. Three days later I was under the knife as she repaired the LCL and put in a larger spacer.

I'm happy to say the surgery went well and I'm healing nicely.

OP
OP
W

Wood man