BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community

Just got my surgery date - August 2018 - yikes!

Discussion in 'Knee Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by Joy77, Aug 9, 2018.

1. Joy77

Joy77 new member

United States United States
    I'm very new to Bonesmart having recently found it. I know reading through everyone's experiences will provide me with so much great information.

I'm in California and have been waiting a long time for my TKR surgery and I just got the call today that I'm scheduled for August 31, 2018 for LTKR through Kaiser in Orange County. Of course, now I'm nervous! I've already attended a required class and am now in physical therapy to build up my leg muscles.

Today I was scheduled for an appointment with an "Internist" (not sure what that's for), Pre-Op blood work / EKG, and a phone appointment with the anesthesiologist. I've already met with my surgeon.

I'm self employed and have three weeks to get everything in order to shut down my business for approximately six weeks.

This is just an introduction. I'm not even sure what I should be asking yet. lol But I do look forward to learning from all of you.

My best to all of you!

2. Celle

Celle FORUM ADVISOR Forum Advisor

New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello @Joy77 - and :welome:

Here is some reading to help you prepare for your surgery:
    If you are at the stage where you have joint pain but don't know for sure if you are ready to have surgery, these links may help:
    Score Chart: How bad is my arthritic knee?
    Choosing a surgeon and a prosthesis
    BMI Calculator - What to do if your surgeon says you're too heavy for joint replacement surgery
    Longevity of implants and revisions: How long will my new joint last?

If you are at the stage where you are planning to have surgery but are looking for information so you can be better prepared for what is to come, take a look at these links: