THR Journal THR #2 10/6/15, 1st in 2006

hippywoman

Country
United States United States
I am a 65 year young country woman who has survived what could easily be called an interesting year. Of course interesting really means dramatic with highs and lows and joys and surprises. I won't go into them all here but the background to OPERATION DAY and then RECOVERY i bet affected all of us.

We rarely come into surgery as well rested and fully at peace and satisfied with our bodies and our lives. Yes?

We may have tried and wanted to eat, sleep well and manage everything perfectly prior to surgery, but that darn old hip pain impaired many aspects of our lives.

Tues Oct 6th 2015 was my Yippy Hippy day. I was ready to have that ongoing left hip pain disappear.

This was going to be my second hip replacement. Dr Duwelius did my right hip in May, 2006. I thought I was well versed in hip surgery and recovery because I was a veteran of a successful surgery.

Hmmm, well let me tell ya.

You know that saying about labor and delivery pain gets forgotten over time?

Well, I think that is partly true about after hip surgery. Getting that darn leg out of bed the first time? Ouch.

The toilet seat got so low while I was in surgery! Ouch .

Sure I want to get lots of fluids but, oh yeah, then you have to pee and use that darn low toilet. Ouch again.

and then there is the fact my body is ten years older that the first surgery. Ouch ouch and ouch

A week later I am doing the roller coaster ride of less aches and pains but more energy ebbs. I am interested in reading how others are doing "after."

And I will share a little of my dual journey as an active country woman of 65

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello and Welcome, @hippywoman! Congratulations on getting that second hip replaced and now you are on your way to a fully recovered, pain free life. Wonderful!