TKR Joe’s Recovery Jourknee

Hey Joe

Country
United States United States
Surgery day finally arrived. Had LTKR yesterday. I’m handling the pain pretty well at least until I had my 1st PT session. BRUTAL. Omg. i get that you got to get that knee bending ASAP and I am an eager student. Guess I just wasn’t prepared for that.
Anyway I’m sure things will get better in due time. But that 1st PT session was something.

Edit: Forgot to mention that my Flexion was 75 and Extention -5

Welcome to recovery and I love your play on words with your title!

First of all, no PT session should be brutal, at any time, but especially not the day off or the day after surgery. Tell that PT no and don’t let him/her touch you. This person has not been trained appropriately and will do you literal harm.

I will leave you our Recovery Guidelines. Each article is short but very informative. Following these guidelines will help you have a less painful recovery.

Just keep in mind all people are different, as are the approaches to this recovery and rehab. The key is, “Find what works for you.“ Your doctors, PTs and BoneSmart are available to help, but you are the final judge as to the recovery approach you choose.

Knee Recovery: The Guidelines

1. Don’t worry: Your body will heal all by itself. Relax, let it, don't try and hurry it, don’t worry about any symptoms now, they are almost certainly temporary

2. Control discomfort:
rest
ice
take your pain meds by prescription schedule (not when pain starts!)​
If you want to use something to help heal the incision,
BoneSmart recommends hypochlorous solution. Members in the US can purchase ACTIVE Antimicrobial Hydrogel through BoneSmart at a discount. Similar products should be available in the UK and other countries.​

3. Do what you want to do BUT
a. If it hurts, don't do it and don't allow anyone - especially a physical therapist - to do it to you​
b. If your leg swells more or gets stiffer in the 24 hours after doing it, don't do it again.​