BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community

I've got to get well: 34-year-old mother of four.

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by jgmurrayaf, Jun 12, 2018.

1. jgmurrayaf

jgmurrayaf new member

United States United States
    Hi. I'm scheduled for bilateral thr (anterior) the 19th, so one week from today. I'm just so nervous. I know how successful these surgeries are, so I'm not really afraid of that. I just have to get back to life. I'm only 34 years old. I'm a teacher, and school starts back the end of August. I'm also the mother of four, young boys. My husband is active duty Air Force, which is why my doctor agreed to do both at the same time, while he'll certainly be here to aid in my recovery. I've been putting this surgery off for a very long time, but my hips are quite-literally shot now. I've been on crutches since March, and I'm very limited. I know I'm kind of rambling, but if anyone would be willing to share their story/recovery timeline, I'd really appreciate it. I know everyone recovers differently, but I'll be fine to just kind of get an idea of what I'm in for. Thanks so much in advance.

2. jaydub63

jaydub63 graduate

@jgmurrayaf Welcome to the forum! If you go over to the Recovery side of the forum, you can look for threads with a green tag for those that have had bilateral replacements. @Mojo333 is one of the forum advisors that has had bilateral THR that can give you some advice.

Very normal to have lots of nerves - we all had it to some degree.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Pumpkln

Pumpkln FORUM ADVISOR Forum Advisor

@jgmurrayaf
    Welcome to BoneSmart glad you joined us!

Generally speaking you should be feeling a lot better around 3 months, and you will continue to heal over the next year or so. That said, everyone is different, some heal sooner, some heal later.
    Chart representation of THR recovery