BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community

I'm envious!

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by Ducky, Mar 23, 2018.

1. Ducky

Ducky new member

United States United States
    Howdy y'all! My name is Kelly, I've sporadically posted here before, with long gaps in between.

So a quicky bio on me: I am a 38 year old - about to turn 39 in a few weeks - woman with four fur babies and random foster fur babies. I am a disabled veteran - Army medic hooah! - because of my service, I need both of my hips replaced.

I have been diagnosed with protrusio acetaboli (Otto pelvis from now on since it's easier to remember) and class/grade (whatever the term is) III arthritis in both hips. The assumption is that I had some sort of hip defect when I joined the Army. It makes sense, even though I never once had any issues with my hips before the military (and my parents, as RNs, were unaware of any issues with my hips when I was a child), I started having pain in my hips 4-5 weeks into boot camp.

The US Army wants people who can push through the pain and get the mission done. I spent the next 4 years running, ruck marching, and jumping out of helicopters, ignoring the pain - until one 12 mile road march where my right leg went completely numb. That's when I knew I had to get out, I wouldn't be any good to my patients if I couldn't physically handle the mission.

For the first few years after I got out the pain drastically decreased, I felt almost 'normal'. I was taking Tae Kwon Do, boxing lessons, I walked 4-5 miles a day...then the pain slowly increased. Now I'm in pain all the time and can barely do anything.

Okay, so that wasn't a quicky bio, I'm a talker! I'm usually more amusing (at least in my head), but I'm having a woe is me moment and sucking all of you into it! Enjoy the ride, the long, long ride.