BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community
  1. RATE YOUR SURGEON ON OUR NEW JOINT SURGEON LOCATOR

Your opinion matters so please click on this announcement to find out how to rate the surgeons you have worked with

You could also go to the Surgeon Locator via the blue nav bar at the top - find the tab "Surgeon Locator"

Dismiss Notice

[THR] Hip Troubles

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Recovery Area' started by bhill22, May 23, 2017.

1. bhill22

bhill22 new member

United States United States
    Hi, I'm new to this but I've been reading forms on this site for the longest & finally decided to join because I have questions.

Back in 2016 I was diagnosed with AVN of the right hip...total shock because I've never had any of the problems that went along with this nor heard of this before. At age 21 they were shocked because "normal" protocol would be a total hip replacement. I was put on the medication called fosmax followed by core decompression on Septemeber 22... For two weeks I was ok but After two, two month follow up visits my progress was not where it should be...meaning MY HIP WAS STILL COLLASPING. I was referred out to Emory....

Visiting Emory for the first time I wasn't even the office 30 mins before signing papers to see a surgeon...two weeks later seeing my surgeon for the first time I wasn't in the office long before signing papers for a total hip replacement of the right hip.
    Crazy huh?.....I know & at age 22 you can only imagine the thoughts in my head.