Ask the Expert Webinar
Lounge Doctor

HELP! Knee // Too Many Opinions (including Subchondroplasty)

OP
OP
B

Beesknees1

Country
United States United States
Hi all I’m new to this fabulous forum and am so happy to have found you all. Praying you can help as I navigate this confusing world of surgery options.

I just turned 40, was a competitive dance from ages 3 to 16 and retired because I had ‘water in my knees.’

I also have 6 herniated discs in my lumbar spine and 6 in my cervical from a car accident.
On August 10th, 2020, I casually bent down in my apt and got up as I twisted and managed to tear my meniscus (large complex medial tear) and have severe bone marrow lesions. Except for the dancing, I never had pain in my knees since I was 16 years old, so thinking this may be a result of my low back injury as I had thrown it out 2 weeks before.

Its been over a month, and I have seen some of the best drs in NYC and they all have a different opinion.

HSS gave me a shot of lidocaine in my knee to see what was causing the pain and it’s indeed the bone bruising. This has left me with the following options:

1. Take it easy, come back in 2 months to see how the bones are healing and essentially keep going back until I don’t feel pain and then so the meniscus surgery. This isn’t ideal for many reasons as I am extremely active and I can barely walk now and am in a lot of pain, 2 more months of this isn’t feasible plus surgery and recovery AND there’s no guarantee the bones will heal, they can take up to 2 years I’ve heard!

2. operate on the meniscus and stay off my leg completely for 6 weeks, since I can’t use crutches due to my neck and back injury, the Freedom Leg Brace is a good option but that still leaves me with even more injured bone bruising from the trauma of the surgery and we don’t know how long it will take time recover (same issue only meniscus is healing together with bone bruising), which makes sense, I think?