THR GadgetGurl LTHR Recovery Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

GadgetGurl

Country
Australia Australia
Hi - this is my first post following left THR on 1st July. So that would make me now 3 1/2 weeks post surgery.

I am a very fit 53 yr old (competitive dragon boat paddler), but even so the surgery certainly knocks you about. I experienced some vomiting post surgery, shortness of breath and my blood pressure was constantly low 90/50. Apart from that, I passed all the other milestones - i.e. out of bed and walking a few hours after surgery. My surgery was anterior method, and I have been determined to follow the exercise program to get myself moving again. I graduated to crutches day 2 after surgery and day 3 was able to go home.

A pre-op and post op exercise program has been provided by my hip clinic, and it is accessible from my ipad. It is a fantastic resource, not only to target specific muscles to ensure they were strong pre-surgery, but the post-surgery exercises progress in difficulty each week. I have also been walking each day, which is helping ease the very tight muscles at the top of my thigh. I'm still icing in the evenings as I find there is still swelling. Still taking Xarelto (blood thinner) and have 1/2 a week more of wearing TED stockings. Physio is once a week for six weeks.

This week I had one set-back where I was lowering myself to the floor to do my exercises and didn't support myself sufficiently. With my operated leg back, I felt and heard a popping sensation. I was still able to move the joint the same as before, but there was more pain/discomfort with my quadracep muscles when lifting my knee. The next day I spoke to my physiotherapist about it, and he insisted I call the hip clinic. After describing the symptons, it was decided that I had popped a deep internal stitch in the capsule. So I am now extremely careful to not get into that "curtsy" position. The discomfort is gradually improving and I'm getting stronger again.