• REGISTER for Joint Replacement Awareness Day on May 9th, 2020!

Surgeons, patients, and other medical professionals will talk about topics you've told are important to you. You can ask questions LIVE of the participants. Please "like" and "share" our JRAD notice on your Facebook page too!

Register and learn more in this announcement:

Watch 2019 JRAD Videos

TKR Elevate at night

gooseisland1

Country
United States United States
Hello All,
I am just getting started at prep for my knee replacement scheduled for March 16, 2020. I lan to get an ice machine and a support to elevate my leg. Do most people elevated the leg all night during sleep or can it be down?

Thanks

pamsknees

Country
I’m on Mar 16 also with bilateral replacements. From what I’ve read you want to elevate as much as possible. There are links on here somewhere to lounge dr elevating pillows as well as photos of regular pillows attached together. I bought one similar to a lounge dr on amazon for my recliner & got an adjustable bed. My surgeon suggested ice packs but I plan to ask him for an ice machine.

Celle

Country
New Zealand New Zealand
Here is some pre-op information, to help you prepare for surgery, @gooseisland1 :
If you are at the stage where you have joint pain but don't know for sure if you are ready to have surgery, these links may help:
Score Chart: How bad is my arthritic knee?
Choosing a surgeon and a prosthesis
BMI Calculator - What to do if your surgeon says you're too heavy for joint replacement surgery
Longevity of implants and revisions: How long will my new joint last?

If you are at the stage where you are planning to have surgery but are looking for information so you can be better prepared for what is to come, take a look at these links:
Recovery Aids: A comprehensive list for hospital and home
Recliner Chairs: Things you need to know if buying one for your recovery
Pre-Op Interviews: What's involved?