BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community
  1. Announcing BoneSmart's NEW Joint Surgeon Locator tool

We are pleased to now offer a tool to help you find just the right surgeon for your needs.

Read more about this in this announcement:

Dismiss Notice

Double Hips... Coming Soon

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by JennyLynne, Mar 15, 2019.

1. JennyLynne

JennyLynne post-grad

United States United States
    Hi everyone... I am a veteran of the knee boards. I had TKR on my left knee, almost 2 yr ago. I right hip was already giving me issues then, but my left hip came roaring out of nowhere after the surgery. My left leg was severely knock-kneed, and I suspect that straightening it out made the hip angry.

It has been very disappointing to go through a TKR only to be sidelined so soon again. I am 45 yrs old and I have a 7 yr old son. He helps me with my shoes in the morning and it makes me want to cry. He doesn't know that he should have a mom who can run and jump and keep up with him, let alone get her own socks on. It breaks my heart, so I want to get this done and behind me ASAP!

Currently scheduled for double hip replacement on April 15 with same surgeon as TKR (he only does knees a hips). I have met with the PA but don't see the surgeon until April 5. Ultimately, he will decide if I can do double or not - PA thinks it is likely. I am young-ish and in ok health - no meds or anything - though have put on a lot of weight in the last few years with the joint issues.

My TKR recovery was great... got a great bend early on and went back to work quickly. I feel confident that more surgery, as soon as possible, is the way to go. But of course... I am nervous about the unknown. Scary to think of both legs being "down" for a while - but know once is better than twice!