BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Joint Replacement Patient Advocacy
and Online Community

finger/thumb DIP and PIP joint surgery

Discussion in 'Other Joints Forum' started by Josephine, Nov 25, 2017.

1. Josephine

Josephine FORUM ADMIN, NURSE DIRECTOR Administrator

United Kingdom United Kingdom
    For those who want to know, a DIP joint is the Distal Inter Phalangeal joint which is the end joint. The middle joint is the PIP joint (Proximal Inter Phalangeal) which lends itself to joint replacement much more easily.

finger silastic-horz.jpg

I've many years experience in this kind of surgery and I can tell you without reservation that the DIP joint is never going to be suitable for a joint replacement. Bear in mind that the distal phalangeal bones are minute, about the size of a bone out of the tip of a chicken wing, so working on it to received such an implant would be pretty near impossible. Even a silastic implant would be unlikely to be very successful. So the suggestion of a fusion is by far the best remedy for this situation.

2. melkien

melkien new member

Argentina Argentina
    Hello, I cannot seem to see the picture, but after reading this post I wanted to ask. I've had a chronic mallet finger, and in a post from a while ago Josephine you recommended finger fusion because it seems to be the norm for DIP joint injuries.

What I wanted to ask, so as to be informed and make a decision, is the state of DIP arthroplasty in cases where it actually could be possible? Meaning, I've read some hospitals do offer it but they are very few and I have yet to see a DIP artificial joint online.

I would really value if you could mention why PIP joints for example are good for joint replacement while DIP joints are not. And in cases where they are used, why would they not be very good? Do they need to be constantly monitored/changed for some reason?