BoneSmart® Hip / Knee Replacement Forum
Knee Replacement & Hip Replacement
Patient Advocacy & Online Community
  1. Your support makes a difference...BoneSmartie Member

Industry changes have drastically reduced orthopedic partner contributions, which for 13+ years supported the operation and development of BoneSmart.org.

Our patient-focused articles and world-class joint replacement community forum have helped millions of people. Your gift today provides the important funds necessary to keep this valuable resource online.

Donate Now
    Dismiss Notice

Bilateral THR

Discussion in 'Hip Replacement Pre-Op Area' started by Cadaval, Apr 20, 2017.

1. Cadaval

Cadaval New Member

Portugal Portugal
    Hello this is my first time posting. I am having both hips replaced on 28 April, just wondering if anyone has any good tips swelling, getting in out bed etc. Thanks

Tags:
  2. djklaugh

djklaugh Post-Grad

United States United States
    @Cadaval Welcome to BoneSmart! :wave:And congratulations on your upcoming bilateral hip replacement! You will find this awkward for a while - one has to really think carefully about practically every movement especially if your surgeon gives you hip precautions to follow (ie not bending more than 90degrees, not crossing legs, etc). But those precautions are only in effect for 6-8 weeks. One of our wonderful moderators will be along soon to give you some articles to read about the Bone Smart mantra - Ice, Elevate, Rest, Medications. As for getting into and out of bed .... well slowly and carefully at first - the nurses and physical therapists at the hospital will probably be able to show you the best techniques for those maneuvers.