Watch 2020 JRAD Videos

TKR Anyone able to work while kneeling after their knee replacement?

Ghost Rider

Country
United States United States
As a carpenter I have to kneel down, crawl around a bit getting up and down all day long. If I can't do it and do it quickly I won't work that much. I always have to compete with nepotism and I won't be able to kneel down. Not to mention work is drying up.

Don't get your hopes up. I'm into my 26th post TKR month and can't kneel. Prior to TKR I never gave kneeling a thought but now I can appreciate how often I have to kneel to do things. I hope you fare better.
I'm meeting Dr. Berger for the 1st time July 13th. Based on what I have read he is one of the best possible surgeons I can get. Talking with the person fielding the calls she says the doctor claims after 12 week per knee I will be 100% able to return to work, although his own website says it may take more than a year to kneel.

The assistant says any disability beyond 12/24 weeks is on your primary doctor. I meet with my primary and he said yes but he would have to wait until post surgery 6-12 months to make sure I was unable to preform my job. I understand that from his perspective.

A different doctor Dr. Levi in Chicago area but different hospital. He says NO you can't work on knee replacements you can chip the ceramic covering on the knee. He says he will sign disability papers after the surgery.

I don't believe I will be able to work on my knees post surgery and I want to file the paperwork immediately. I get 12 months of temporary disability and get a few hundred a week but I get my hours for insurance paid, so my wife and I will have insurance for one year post surgery. So if I wait a year to apply the up to 2 years waiting for disability I will be on Cobra costing 2,000 a month and I wasted a year for a miracle so far I haven't found one person that says they can work on their knees.