An Accountant's Story

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet

Hi Everyone!
I'm on a personal improvement mission. A year ago it was gastric bypass (lost over 100 lbs) and now THR since I lost all that weight and now need a way to expend the boundless energy! I'm thrilled by the prospect of being able to walk again without pain - you know, going to the supermarket and not have to use the handicapped carts to get around; retiring the handicapped placard for 'peferred'parking spots, the ability to chase after my kids when they backtalk, play in the back yard with the dog, etc etc.

My personal BIG CONCERN is that I am an accountant. Yes, a bean counter from Beantown. As such, I have the pleasure of being seated at my desk for 8 or more hours per day. Of course I get up to try and walk around and all, but reading all of the threads I have not seen anyone talk about how soon they can get back to their desk job. As the main bread-winner in the family as well as the insurance carrier, I need my job. I've arranged to get 6 weeks off of work in November when I have my surgery, but I'd love to hear from anyone out there who can tell me when I may reasonably expect to return to the 8-hour grind.

Thanks to any and all! This has been an eye-opening and informative forum! I truly appreciate the opportunity to participate in this fantastic medium!

Janet

Oh gosh - and no-one replied!!

I would think that around 10-12 weeks would be about the norm, Janet. Of course of you're having a minimally invasive replacement, it could be lot, lot sooner.

You sound so positive and full of good cheer! I do hope everything goes well for you. Keep us posted, eh?

Janet: