TKR 6-7 month appointment coming up

Smilechild

Country
United States United States
Hi all. I had my TKR on Jan 3, 2022. I had ACL reconstruction about 25 years ago and a meniscus clean-out 3 years ago. The main reason I scheduled my replacement this year is to be able to focus on celebrating my daughter at her wedding in November - not my knee pain. I had expectations of a quick recovery as I'm not overweight, rode my bike almost every day, and did other quad strengthening exercises pre-surgery. I have a cementless knee which was not discussed pre-surgery.

The surgery went fine. Swelling went down pretty quickly. (At least I gathered that from early appointments.) I have full range of motion and actually achieved flexion pretty quickly compared to many and maybe by 3 months I had my extension in a good place. I have been doing aquatic PT for a couple of months now following traditional pt prior to that. I still have swelling in the bursas - most predominant is pain and tenderness in the "Goose Foot" (Pes Anserine), but also behind the knee and lately pain below the knee cap. I was given a cortisone shot in that bursa at maybe 3 or 4 months which really gave me little to no relief that I recall. I hear loud and clear on this forum that icing, elevation and rest are the big three to recovery, and I agree. I'm just not consistent with it unless I find a good book to read. I'm a bit ADHD, so I am not one to stay in one place that long.