THR 44 year old getting a new left hip

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottBGKY

Country
United States United States
So never thought I’d be here at age 44. Seems I had some really bad hips from birth and years of football, military, running, basketball and powerlifting have worn both completely out. The pain and limping in my left hip have stole all of the joy from my life. Hard to believe 2.5 years ago I took home 2 medals at a powerlifting meet and today I can’t even put my shoe on my left foot.

Surgery is scheduled for December 30th

Lucky guy! You will be 2 weeks post op when I get mine done. Also the left hip here. I saw this group today and was very pleased at the common sense and absolute truth here. I work in health care but This is a new adventure. Just remember to ask questions of your care team and tell them if you have nagging wonders. They will go out of their way if they know you want to get the info.

@ScottBGKY
:welome:to BoneSmart, glad you joined us!
You will notice I have added your surgery date to your signature, and have added you to the December SuperNovas, where you will see who else is having THR around the same time as you.

Here is some pre op information for you,
If you are at the stage where you have joint pain but don't know for sure if you are ready to have surgery, these links may help:
Score Chart: How bad is my arthritic hip?
Choosing a surgeon and a prosthesis
BMI Calculator - What to do if your surgeon says you're too heavy for joint replacement surgery
Longevity of implants and revisions: How long will my new joint last?

If you are at the stage where you are planning to have surgery but are looking for information so you can be better prepared for what is to come, take a look at these links:
Recovery Aids: A comprehensive list for hospital and home
Recliner Chairs: Things you need to know if buying one for your recovery
Pre-Op Interviews: What's involved?