20 long years...finally my turn!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ACDCJen

graduate
Country
United States United States
Hello,
I'm relatively new to BS, but I have had knee problems all of my life! I am finally able to get my first knee replacement! I just had pretty extensive left ankle surgery on June 8, 2016, and 5 weeks later, I ruptured my left Achilles tendon. Good thing I had the surgery because the internal stitches are what kept it from a total rupture! I was put into a fiberglass cast for 2 weeks and I got it off today! I have about 3-4 weeks more to go before my Achilles is good enough for the replacement. I am just waiting for the date, but hopefully will be in September!! He said he was going to open it up and see if the outer part of the joint is as bad as the rest of it. If it's not, he will do a partial. He said that this would allow me to have an easier time with a revision in the future, particularly as I'm 39 years old. If I was a betting woman, I'd say he'll most definitely be doing a total replacement. This same doctor told me 20 years ago, when I was 19, that my knee was already bad enough for a replacement. I kept it going for 2 decades and now it is time.

Like most of you, I want my life back. My quality of life has suffered more and more over the years and I want to be able to enjoy myself before I am totally decrepit! My goal is to be able get out of my kayak by next summer, get up off the ground/floor, walk for more than a block, use my bike, and lose weight! I just want to be healthier and more capable of moving around!

So, I have to wear a walking/fracture boot, which I affectionately call Das Boot because I've worn it for about 5 months already, for another 4 weeks or so and then TKR (or PKR). I am looking so forward to having a normal knee because I have NO idea what that would be like!

Thanks for letting me share and for all the support you've given me so far! I really appreciate this forum.

Jen