Is using heat okay after surgery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvtocamp

I am new to Bonesmart, and so happy to have found this wonderful place. One comment, or question, regarding the heating pads. I use an electric blanket during the cold months, and often just lie on top of it when my back and knees are hurting. Is this a no-no after TKR? My surgery will be in Feb. I will be lost without my blanket.

Re: I made it! (Lisabon)

I am new to Bonesmart, and so happy to have found this wonderful place. One comment, or question, regarding the heating pads. I use an electric blanket during the cold months, and often just lie on top of it when my back and knees are hurting. Is this a no-no after TKR? My surgery will be in Feb. I will be lost without my blanket.

Welcome Luvtocamp! So glad you found our little forums before your surgery. You have lots of time to read up and prepare which is great!

I have never used an electric blanket even though I live in the cold Northeast US but I have been using an electric heating pad on the small of my back at night time lately mostly because my back has been achey lately with the change of weather. I also put it on my left thigh sometimes as that muscle is very tight and it is causing some pain for the knee.

I think you will find that while there's nothing wrong with using the electric blanket, you are going to want to avoid putting any heat on your knee until you are pretty well healed. I know it sounds crazy to you right now, but all you are going to even want to have on your knee after the surgery is ice. Lots and lots of ice! and frequently! Last night I was laying in bed with ice on my knees and behind them and a heating pad on my lower back. So the heat kind of cancelled out the cold to the rest of my body. :rolleyespink: