Reverse Shoulder Replacement It's Finally Time to do This

Laurelbla

Country
United States United States
Apologies for the long post. I have been researching about RSR and came across this forum this morning. I am so glad there is a place to talk to real people with experience.

I will be 59 in a few weeks. I've been dealing with shoulder pain for years. For the last couple of years it's been pain management. I get cortisone injections every 6-8 weeks and take 3200 mg of Ibuprofen many days. My Dr. originally wanted to wait years before he did surgery because he said I was too young (HA)! My guess is that most of the RSR are done are people older than me. I went back last week and after talking with him, he decided it was time. I have to get blood work first and then they will call and schedule.

A little bit of background in hopes that someone can relate and let me know a good outcome. I am a personal trainer and own my own gym. I do small group boot camp classes as well as personal training. I am also a Kettlebell instructor. For years I have been active and participated in GORUCK events which are hardcore endurance events led by Special Forces Cadre. The events require wearing a ruck weighing about 35 pounds. There is all kinds of PT (with ruck), bear crawls, burpees, log and sandbag carrying and miles and miles of rucking with up to 120 extra pounds on your back.

I had been training for a 48 hour event in January but got Covid in Dec and couldn't train for a month so I missed it. I have always been in pain while training and during events but I just suck it up. I always figured that if I have to have my shoulders replaced in the future, I might as well do what I love until then.